Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off Topic / Anyone have any special recipes
ladyslipper
# Posted: 29 Jan 2015 15:08

Does anyone have any special recipes that they enjoy using while at their cabin? I have a brown bread that I love to bake in the wood cook stove. If anyone is interested I can post the recipe. Oh yeah, and it has to be served with baked beans
brown_bread.jpg
brown_bread.jpg

cabingal3
# Posted: 29 Jan 2015 15:46

would love to have recipes.thank u ladyslipper.

Salty Craig
# Posted: 29 Jan 2015 17:15

That bread looks really good!! Most of the things that I cook at the cabin don't require a recipe. Eggs, bacon, hash browns, sandwiches, burgers, dogs, Bush's baked beans, mac & cheese, chili, sardines, potato chips, and you get the idea. I'm a lazy cook. At home I eat the most wonderful country cookin that you could imagine. (Thanks to my wife)

Salty Craig

hattie
# Posted: 29 Jan 2015 21:26

I would also like to see the recipe ladyslipper!!

creeky
# Posted: 31 Jan 2015 10:20

Cornbread on the wood stove:
I tried this last night. Easy to make. Tasty to eat.

Ingredients
1/2 cup buttermilk or soured milk (see TIP)
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 egg
1 tablespoon honey or sugar or maple syrup (use more, if desired)

3/4 cup cornmeal
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
I added hot pepper flakes, but you could use anything or nothing.

2 teaspoons oil or butter, for the pan
Container: heavy 8-inch skillet

PREP
Took me about 15 mins for my first try.
COOK
Took about 15 mins on my wood stove. it wasn't real hot.

Put buttermilk or soured milk into a small bowl. Add egg and beat with a fork. Stir in oil and honey.
In another bowl, mix cornmeal, salt and baking soda.
Heat skillet, add 2 teaspoons butter or oil and spread to cover bottom and sides of skillet thoroughly. I used butter oil and beef fat. great with steak.