Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / General Forum / Introductions
Lovetheroad75
# Posted: 20 Oct 2016 12:44

Hello everyone! I am brand new here, just found this site and I am just starting out on my efforts to get off the grid. I and my wife are currently looking for land in Missouri to build our new log home on; and we want it to be as off the grid as we possibly can. Like I said, I am new at this and have a lot to learn so any advise or info that more experienced people can provide would be very welcome!

LoonWhisperer
# Posted: 20 Oct 2016 13:56

Welcome to the forum! This is the right place for all things off-grid. We look forward to hearing about your journey.

bldginsp
# Posted: 20 Oct 2016 18:06

Welcome! I'm very biased against log homes for a lot of reasons. But basically it takes longer to build and you end up with a less functional building. Anyway I suggest you look at all the alternatives. You'll have overall a lot of work to do and a lot of money to spend, so perhaps a more difficult, time consuming method of construction won't be your first choice.

DaveBell
# Posted: 21 Oct 2016 07:44

Welcome to the forum. Check out the search function. Lots of good stuff here.

Quoting: bldginsp
biased against log homes

They look nice but....
RVALUE_Per_Inch.jpg
RVALUE_Per_Inch.jpg

Lovetheroad75
# Posted: 21 Oct 2016 11:12

I am sure that you are correct about the log homes, but we just love the look of a beautiful log home with big bay windows overlooking the valley. It's kind of a dream-home thing.

bldginsp
# Posted: 21 Oct 2016 15:33

As Joseph Campbell said,"Follow your bliss".

rmak
# Posted: 23 Oct 2016 10:00