Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Idea for a large 'small cabin'
anbu_zim
# Posted: 2 Sep 2014 09:55 - Edited by: anbu_zim

Hello all!

My wife and I, our 2 year old, and our wiener dog are looking to build on our few acres of land finally.. a large 'small cabin'.

Let me explain. I love the idea of an a-frame cabin such as http://tinyhousetalk.com/wp-content/uploads/tiny-a-frame-cabin-in-the-woods-0015.jpg or http://www.adventure-journal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/adventure-journal-weekend -cabin-granite-falls-02.jpg but don't know how to build a damn thing at all!

I am an air traffic control-man/computer scientist who has a decent savings but would like to spend no more than $15-20,000 on the entire project excluding labor (which, please give estimates).

I like the above pictures but would like it to be.. a tad bigger. Those are dinky and small. Now bear with me, I don't even know to explain how big I'd like it.. maybe double the size of those ones. I assume in theory we could take the production cost of those and simply double it? I'm not sure.

Anyone know how to get started doing this? Anything I should consider before starting? What type of roof should I get (I'm in Northern Cali) and what type of wood... I guess that's all up to the contractors though, not sure.

Preferably two stories too btw.

What are the legal laws regarding these? Can we legally live in one, assuming we have solar power? What about toilet... how would we introduce running water... ?

another example: http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=12&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0C HwQFjAL&url=http%3A%2F%2Ftinyhousetalk.com%2Ftiny-a-frame-cabin-woods%2F&ei=x80FVNaRB Mz9oQSn14GwBg&usg=AFQjCNFHf_HZMzKZEqZcd0HRKh8khAorZg&sig2=SXf3GbvIAzzWUFBnpeuoOA&bvm= bv.74115972,d.cGU

a tad bit bigger than this... how much would this cost to build from scratch?

anbu_zim