Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Foundations
. 1 . 2 . >>
felineman
# Posted: 20 Feb 2015 01:34

Only in the planning phase, but thinking dig down 2 feet and using gravel stacked stone 2 feet wide 1 foot above ground level with drainage weeper system. Otherwise known as a shallow trench rubble foundation. this will be done in Northern Ontario in an unincorporated township. Anyone see any problems? There won't be any permits required as I will be at least 200 km from nearest town. Very little information in this type of foundation. Everyone expects you to pay thousands to have poured concrete. Stone and rocks not an issue will NOT be using mortar or cement, dry stacked only like the days of old.

OwenChristensen
# Posted: 20 Feb 2015 08:27 - Edited by: OwenChristensen

Very interesting. What dimensions?

I'm a builder and I would not expect that you wouldn't have a lot of frost heaving. Normally we need to go under the frost levels or on smaller building float on top. I have wondered why the rock pile on my old homestead seem to be so solid.

Owen

Don_P
# Posted: 20 Feb 2015 08:34

Typically the rocks shift and the bearing changes, the house settles until doors and windows bind or the floors go unacceptably out of level. I've worked on a number of these, presently putting the third foundation under one. We found and saved many of the rocks that were under there from the first foundation. The second foundation was difficult for them to install properly and they took shortcuts because the work was difficult, so it also failed.

There is nothing wrong with a proper rubble trench foundation, which is actually just a footing under some other type of foundation wall or slab. Those walls can be poured in place, precast or treated wood.

leonk
# Posted: 20 Feb 2015 09:41

welcome, fellow Ontarian Where's the place?