Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / 16x24 Floor Plan Help
antler
# Posted: 29 Aug 2010 22:35

Hey guys i'm new here and in need of some help. I'm planning a cabin build to start next spring. I want 16x24, with a loft with 2 bunk rooms. Doesn't have to be alot of head room. For electricity I'll be using a generator, heat I'll be using a oven/stove that burns wood. so, I won't be needing a range in my floor plan. No refridgerator either. Small and simple kitchen with a larger living room area, fold out sofa bed, and a table to seat 4-6 people. small bathroom with a tub, toilet and sink.
I've looked all over the net for floor plans but couldn't find anything I liked. Maybe you guys could show me some of your self-drawn plans, or point me in a good direction to where I can design my own. I'm new to this stuff, and cannot design my own on paper that I like, I always run into alot of complications.
For those wondering, this cabin will be nestled into an old community that was ruined by resettlement years ago. My grandfather used to live there as a kid, only access is boat. I'll probably get things ready and put my piers in this fall, then next spring get cracking at it asap. Thanks beforehand for your help guys!

mlhall
# Posted: 30 Aug 2010 12:35

Antler,

16 x 24 is plenty big for what you are wanting to do. I'm currently working on a 14 x 21 floor plan with intention of sleeping 4-6 people. The design uses a gambrel style roof to create more space for the loft area. You can view some of the design work on my website as well as a layout http://mlhalloutdoors.com/?page_id=82

I used a product called 3d home architect to layout the floor plan. Seems like I downloaded it for free. You might try www.download.com and do a little searching for free programs. Try a couple and keep use the one you like best.

Hope that Helps.
Matt H.

antler
# Posted: 30 Aug 2010 21:58