Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Finishing: wallpaper
creeky
# Posted: 5 Jul 2015 09:02

wallpaper. experiment #1

When I went to buy wallpaper I went to a shop that sells recycled bits. They had wallpaper paste, wallpaper brushes, wallpaper trays: all donated. And two enormous bins of wallpaper. Very few with two rolls to match.

A pair of volunteers, lovely ladies of a later generation than even mine, hurried over when they saw I was looking at the various bits and bobs with my typical expression of puzzlement when faced with a new to me technology.

"Thinking of doing some wallpapering?" they asked astutely.

"Yes," I said carefully. Then, for some reason, a reason certainly not in mind, I added, "I've never done wallpapering before. Is it hard?"

"Oh," laughed the two women together turning to each other and sharing a look of joy. "It's as easy as anything now. Used to be a bit messy when you had to paste the paper but now you just run the paper through water and then slap it on the wall."

The laughed to show me how easy it was. Laughed and laughed in fact.

"What do I need?" I asked laughing myself in the spirit of the thing.

"Why hardly anything at all," said the jovial lady with bushy grey hair. "Forget all those brushes, and scrubbies, a clean cloth is all you need."

"He will need a tray for the water," said the giggling woman with her hair in a bun.

"Oh yes, a tray," said the jovial one. "Just like this," and she brought down a long black tray.

The two woman, with much giggling and laughing, took a paper sample and showed me how to run the paper through the water.

The giggling one did mention something about how something might be missing from my tray. "Isn't there a wire to hold the paper," I believe she said.

"Oh, that's old fashioned now," laughed the other.

"A clean cloth and this tray, that's it?"