Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Hello from South Africa
Frans
# Posted: 24 Nov 2015 08:07

I live on a small cattle farm near a small town, Smithfield, in central South Africa. The Caledon river runs through the farm and there are also two smaller creeks running through the farm. I have always wanted to build a small hunting/fishing cabin on the river bank.
In my area there are no shops or suppliers where you can buy timber, but I believe I might have everything that is needed on the farm. I have an Aspen tree grove and a small saw mill, so I can cut my own timber. I don't know how good it is, but that is what I have. I also have a lot of common reed along the river and I was wondering if I could use it for thatching the roof and maybe some walls. I also have a good supply of sand stone. Our area has a low rainfall, (about 16 inches/ year) and no snow.
I have no experience with wood construction.
Any comments or advice will be appreciated.

old243
# Posted: 24 Nov 2015 09:28

frans, what materials are commonly used in your area. In our area aspen would not normally be used for structural , if it was going to be in a damp location, or in contact with the ground.Since you have your own mill , I would think it would be fine above grade, for structural , siding sheeting etc. As long as it was kept dry.I am assuming the aspen would be similar to our poplar. You can oversize any timbers and use preservative if you are in doubt. What kind of a mill have you got? I have a bandmill, and mostly use it as something to do, As I can't do much heavy slugging. Have fun with your project. I am sure you will get others , chiming in as well. old243

Don_P
# Posted: 24 Nov 2015 20:12

Your reeds would work in a wattle and daub wall. I don't think they'd be good for roof thatch. This is a series of 3 videos of a young man doing wattle and daub infill on a timber framed structure.