Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Roof framing reasurance
<< . 1 . 2 .
ICC
# Posted: 8 Jun 2018 13:24

I'm just trying to help people who contribute to threads here as well as those who just lurk learn. .....I'm not an engineer or code expert either.

KinAlberta
# Posted: 8 Jun 2018 14:46 - Edited by: KinAlberta

Sometimes we Canadians prefer to compromise and split the difference down the middle.

Roof Framing Suggestions, Canadian guidelines

“...Our associate, Al Carson points out that”

“Putting the horizontal support or collar tie (in Canada) at the "midpoint" of the rafter length makes sense, since locating the collar tie or "rafter tie" at any point other than the middle of the rafter's length will fail to minimize the rafter span.”

“Both the CMHC guide and other expert sources offer other approaches to supporting rafters in pitched roofs, including struts nailed between the rafter side and a load-bearing partition below.” ...

https://inspectapedia.com/structure/Roof_Framing_Specifications_Canada.php

Without actually looking, I believe both of our 1950s cabins (24’x24’ and 24’x30’ gable ends with ridge boards and maybe just 2x4 rafters on both) have collar ties at half the height of the peak and where the meet the rafter there are vertical braces going straight down to the rafter ties below. The collar ties are placed at every 2nd or 3rd pair of rafters.

The first time I ever actually looked to see how it was made I remember thinking that it all looked really flimsy to me. ...but they’ve held up very well through many decades so far.

Borrego
# Posted: 8 Jun 2018 16:57

Quoting: KinAlberta
The first time I ever actually looked to see how it was made I remember thinking that it all looked really flimsy to me. ...but they’ve held up very well through many decades so far