Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / The Tale of Creek and Crock
spillenger
# Posted: 19 Jul 2014 07:23

I am building a pumping system to bring water from my creek to a holding tank next to my cabin. I am using a Shurflo 9300 submersible pump powered by direct solar.

Creeks being what they are, the water level is higher or lower, depending on rainfall. I have been told that the best idea, therefore, is to install a "crock," which will be constantly filled by the creek, and into which I should place the submersible pump. I've never done this before, so I have questions.

Where is the crock placed? If in the creek, how does it fill? If next to the creek at a lower elevation than the creek itself (by digging a hole or just finding a spot that's lower), how do you keep it from constantly overflowing?

Do you simply put one end of a garden hose in the creek (and weigh it down somehow) and the other end in the crock so that it fills because of gravity?

Does it matter whether you fill the crock from the bottom or the top?

How big should the crock be and does it matter what it's made of?

What's a good way of filtering debris out of the water before it gets into the crock?

And finally, are there any online primers on how to do this or maybe some pictures of completed systems?

Many thanks.

Paul

bldginsp
# Posted: 20 Jul 2014 00:23 - Edited by: bldginsp