Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / water power from creek
vidaliaman
# Posted: 29 Sep 2014 21:38

Hi all, i'm a newbie here, want to build a water wheel. I am thinking of using a car alternator or generator(looking for advice), how many parallel 12V batteries would a car alternator be able to charge running 24/7? do i worry about over charging?
sorry about my ignorance but i have to start somewhere and i am starting from scratch

thanks dave
michigan

Don_P
# Posted: 29 Sep 2014 23:13 - Edited by: Don_P

I was curious, found some very basic math for an old time overshot wheel and plugged it into a calc. At low flow I could about run a light bulb
http://www.timbertoolbox.com/Calcs/waterwheelHP.htm

bldginsp
# Posted: 29 Sep 2014 23:25

Is it a big creek or a little crick? How large a wheel are you willing to make?

As far as charging goes, you need a charge controller matched to the voltage input and output. The solar guys can tell you more about that.

Any sized generator/alternator will ultimately charge any number of batteries, but, will the generator be able to replace the charge as fast as you use it? First thing to know with any battery system is- what are your power needs, how much will you use in a day? Then pick batteries capable of supplying that, then pick a power source capable of keeping up with your use.

Divert your creek so that all the water is applied to the drive wheel, make the biggest drive wheel you can, take pics and post them here!

vidaliaman
# Posted: 30 Sep 2014 08:55