Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / Off Grid Solar at $0.16/kWh
. 1 . 2 . >>
electrodacus
# Posted: 25 Mar 2015 16:43

Hi All,
This is my first time for me on this forum.
I think I got your attention with that title
That 16 cent/kWh is a bit misleading because that is the amortisation cost for all the equipment but not for installation.
I moved offgrid about two years ago and I was searching for solutions to power my house.
Solar PV was an easy choice but battery was extremely expensive (I'm not referring to initial cost but at amortisation cost).
My house (also build that one) is small you can even call that a small cabin is 65sqm (700sqft).
It is also energy efficient so I only need an average of 80kWh/month.
So if I'm to take how much energy I will use over 25 years (the normal life of PV panels) then
80kWh x 12month x 5 years = 24000kWh

Now le me give you the total cost of my installation.
PV panels 3x 240W each is about $200 total $600
PV support made of 2x4 just $35
Wires and DC breakers about $100
*Solar BMS (SBMS4080) $179
2400W inverter $500 (only use this about 1h/day most things work directly from 24V DC)
Battery is a 8 cell LiFePO4 from GBS so 24V at 100Ah and the cost for this was $1200 about 3 years ago.
I will make a capacity test for the battery soon but if my expectations are right and I only have 5% capacity loss or less after 2 years of full time Off Grid use then I will need just another battery after 12 years to have 25 years life.

So total initial investment is
( $600 PV + $35 support + $100 wires + $179 Solar BMS + $500 inverter + $1200 LiFePO4 battery ) = $2614
But in order for this to last 25 years I need another battery and a PV support since is made of wood so another $1200+$35 in about 12 years.

So total expense over 25 years $2614 + $1235 = $3849

Now $3849 / 24000kWh = $0.16/kWh