Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / how to achieve prime oil lamp ambiance
. 1 . 2 . >>
pizzadude
# Posted: 2 Apr 2015 00:28

I'm no expert by any means, but playing around with my lamps I think I've found a wick shape that provides a nice flame and optimal lighting.
I like to refer to my flames as having a "molar" shape. Like a big yellow tooth. What I do is I cut the wick across as straight as possible with a scissors (or whatever works) and then very gently trim off the tips of the sides of the wick.
Hope this helps good luck!

pizzadude
# Posted: 2 Apr 2015 00:37

Dang. Can't upload a pic. I gotta figure that out still lol

Malamute
# Posted: 2 Apr 2015 11:45

I get the same shape flame. I dont do much of anything to the wicks other than be sure the crusty accumulation that can form on the end is broken up.

One thing I've noticed with my lamps, I turn the wick up some to light, especally if it hasnt been burned in a while (can break up the crusty stuff with the Leatherman tool), and when turning it back in, it goes low, then as its turned in a little more, the flame comes back up. Thats my sweet spot. Less smoke, wicks last longer, or so it seems.

I only use my lamps for power outages now, but they were my primary night lighting for several years off and on.

old243
# Posted: 2 Apr 2015 12:58

We leave a lamp burning , all night . Turn it down real low and keep it a piece away from where you are sleeping. When you have that urgent bathroom call, you can see to move about without falling over something. Old243

Littlecooner
# Posted: 2 Apr 2015 16:30

Is this 1815 or 2015? Have I entered the Twilight Zone Rod Sterling always warned me about?

Thanks for the heads up, I am still a few months away from having to light with a kerosene lamp. Yes, sounds like you found the sweet spot.

creeky
# Posted: 2 Apr 2015 18:17 - Edited by: creeky

yup.

cabingal3