Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / Question about 12 volt system - newbie
Bigred292
# Posted: 22 May 2016 20:44

Newbie here- just bought cabin that is wired gor 12v and 120v
Going to start off by admitting that I know pretty much nothing about electrical. The system has 4 deep cycle batteries tied together. The previous owner would charge them by generator. Batteries are less than 1 year old.
The electrician that installed system said in the meantime I could plug a panel into any 12v socket .
I went to Harbor Freight and bought a 15w panel and plugged it into 12v wall socket.
I live 2.5 hrs away and now I'm nervous. Could this harm the system?
Is it dangerous?
I plan on calling electrician tomorrow and ask him- he did say it would work though
Any thoughts?

Bigred292
# Posted: 22 May 2016 20:48

This is the panel
IMG_47891.jpg
IMG_47891.jpg

bldginsp
# Posted: 22 May 2016 21:28

Hmm... Need a little info here.

Is the system set up to provide both 12v and 120v power to the cabin? Is there an inverter?

What is that panel for?

Just
# Posted: 22 May 2016 22:19

IT WILL BE FINE for a few weeks . you should really have a charge controller and a volt meter in that circuit in the future .

Bigred292
# Posted: 22 May 2016 22:19

The panel has a Whistler inverter, couple of GFIs, breakers and fuses.
When yhe panel is closed there are 2 switches on it- an on/ off rocker and a 3 way position switch- top center is off, left is 12v and right is generator
The panel is connected to 4 deep cycle batteries.
In the cabin wherever there is a 110 outlet there is a 12 volt cig lighter socket as well.
The panel also has a digital gauge that shows voltage for 12v system.
That's really about all I know. There is a problem in the system that draws down the voltage - while taking a shower the pump stopped for an example.