Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / Propane lighting installation
bldginsp
# Posted: 27 Jan 2017 18:52

I'm seriously considering running 3/8 copper tubing through the walls and installing propane light fixtures. I have no experience with this kind of thing. I read up on the plumbing code and there's not much there beyond basic gas piping requirements. Any tips, experiences, etc. to share?

One thing I encountered in the code is that you are prohibited from using copper tubing for gas delivery when the gas has a sulphur content above a certain level. I think, but haven't confirmed, that most propane doesn't have a sulphur content high enough to matter. Anyone familiar with this?

I'll be supplying propane from two 40 lb bottles with some kind of RV regulator setup.

Thanks

FishHog
# Posted: 27 Jan 2017 19:34

No confirmation about the sulphur content, but my dad built our family cottage in 1976 with 3/8 copper tube going to 2 propane lights. I haven't been back to it for a few years but at that point they were still working just fine. I've installed the exact same setup in my last two cottages. My only complaint is they aren't all that bright, tough to read by, and in the summer they give off a lot of heat. That part is nice in the winter, I run them to help warm the place up. About once every 5 years depending on use, pull them apart and clean the orifice and they brighten up some.

all mine have run off 20 or 30lb propane tanks and tank mounted regs.

FishHog

darz5150
# Posted: 27 Jan 2017 20:20 - Edited by: darz5150

I believe that copper is a no go for natural gas not propane. ( chemical reasons)
I have a 250 gallon tank that the propane company installed and fills. It has copper coming off the tank regulator, then to a lower pressure regulator, then into the cabin.