Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / Need Generator to Panel Wiring Opinions/Advice
SCSJeff
# Posted: 11 Oct 2017 22:25

Hi all,

This is going to be long, so bare with me please

I've been running our off-grid vacation cabin for the last 3 years in the following manner:

Cabin wired AC like a conventional residence. I have a 12 space 240v panel that is fed directly from our Coleman PowerMate 6250W (Surge) 240V Generator. Generator is located behind shed approximately 50 feet away. Feed from genny is 10 Gauge. I also have a small 1500W Champion generator that I've made up a cable that jumps both hots so I can feed both sides of my panel through the same feed.

I have a 240v deep well pump (500'). Hence the need for a 240v panel. There is also a 120v septic pump that has a pretty good amp draw when it is running as well. In addition, I have a 5 cubic foot chest freezer that I'm going to use a Johnson Control on to "convert" it to a fridge. Figure it would run whenever I have the Genny running and that should keep it cold enough for a weekend.

Off one of the circuits in my panel (15A lights & and a few receptacles), I have an auto transfer switch that is also fed by my small solar setup:

Solar Setup consists of a Xantrex ProSine 600W and (2) Golf Cart Batteries. Solar setup also resides in shed and feeds the auto transfer switch with a 12 Gauge wire.

This gives me most of my lights and a few receptacles that are live on solar and then auto switches over to my generator when running.

Here's what I've discovered to be a pain working with this setup over the last 3 years: