Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / No internet service here. Options?
. 1 . 2 . >>
turkeyboyslim
# Posted: 25 Nov 2018 09:58

So I'm looking at a beautiful piece of land in central VT in a town without zoning. It's perfect for what I want and it meets all of my "checklists" except for one. I've checked every Internet Service Provider in my area and there is no internet available in this area. Now I do have great cell service on the land, there is 2 large cell towers miles and miles away, high up on some mountaintops. Of course I could use data from my phone but It is important for me to be able to sit down on my computer and have decent internet speed.
(I will be doing a lot of new things and learning skills I have little experience in, the internet is a great tool for research and guides which is why its almost a requirement for me)

Does anyone have any recommendations on what could be done? I've heard of satellite internet but Id rather not do that, I've heard its expensive and pretty crappy.
I think phones have a mobile hotspot thing where you can emit wifi from your phone service that other devices pick up, but I have no experience with that and don't know how it works. I'm hoping theirs some option I'm unaware of that would allow medium-high speeds in rural areas. Thanks for any advice!

Borrego
# Posted: 25 Nov 2018 10:11

That's a conundrum we face....most of us (I think) go the cabin route to get away from civilization, so the absence of internet is a relief, not a problem....

I would just drive into town, or wherever you can get internet, when you need to do some research...or just go to the cabin prepared. There are also these things called books that we used to use for research, you can get them on any subject, esp building....

kittysmitty
# Posted: 25 Nov 2018 10:16