Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / My head is melting about Batteries!!
<< . 1 . 2 .
FishHog
# Posted: 6 May 2019 16:09

there are cheaper options than renogy out there,but the basis of your math is right. Its the fact that you will get 5 or more times the lifespan out of the lithium that make them cost effective over the long term.

If you deal with below freezing temps, that brings in another negative for lithium, but it can be dealt with fairly easily.

beachman
# Posted: 6 May 2019 18:01

Don't feel bad about solar information being overwhelming. It took me over two years of research and self teaching to start to understand it. I am no pro for sure but I received great help from this and other sites. My system is small but I have the camp wired for 110 with plugs and light switches. Suggestion, wire the cabin during the building phase just like a house even if you delay any power decisions. My system works great. Also, my propane fridge works fine but if your wife is happy with the coolers - go with that for now but plan ahead for future upgrades.

NorthRick
# Posted: 6 May 2019 19:11 - Edited by: NorthRick

Quoting: zorro
So would I actually need 2 of the lithium to get me to 4080Wh, still 1000Wh less than the T105’s?I know they are longer lasting, less maintenance, etc, but if the above is correct, extremely pricey?

Yep, they are pricey. Proponents for lithium like to say that since they are projected to last much longer than lead batteries that they aren't as expensive long term. However, they haven't been in use long enough real world to know for sure. No one who says they will last 20 years has used them for 20 years. Lead batteries have been around for a 100 years and their capacities and lifespans are well known.