Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Nature / Coyote,...all that bad?
. 1 . 2 . >>
Smawgunner
# Posted: 12 Feb 2017 10:13 - Edited by: Smawgunner

All of my hunting buddies will take any chance they get to kill a coyote. They all site trail cam pictures and stories of coyotes killing deer. They claim that the deer population is in decline because of this. I tend to rely more on research so I studied this as much as I could and found the contrary. The more coyote you kill the more they repopulate to replace themselves which actually increases their population. Not only that in Ohio at least these animals are not pack animals they are mostly solitary. Research has shown much of their diet does include DEER but it does not show how those deer were acquired. Most researchers believe they were scavenged. Bobcat as well has a diet mostly made up of deer meat. Certainly a 25 lb bobcat would not take down a white tailed deer. These animals are opportunistic and would not waste so much energy and risk injury when they could eat mice and chipmunks squirrels rabbits etc. They would take down a fawn but they are not present all year long. I like to see coyotes and love to hear them howl but it doesn't make a difference to me whether they shoot them or not. It is the reason behind it that baffles me. It's that kill anything that moves mentality. Thoughts?

Steve_S
# Posted: 12 Feb 2017 10:36

I personally have no issues with Coyote's or Wolves for that matter. They take out the sickly, injured & feeble which strengthens the quality of the wildlife. They (predators) keep herds moving, preventing over grazing which allows vegetation to grow back faster & better along with being more diverse. This also prevents the animals from compacting the soil reducing it's ability to absorb moisture and nutrients.