Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Properties / Thinning Trees
. 1 . 2 . >>
ICC
# Posted: 12 Oct 2018 21:28

I'm bored, waiting to see if the rain stops. Bored. I have a lousy 3G connection, but will see if I can upload a picture or two.

I've been thinning trees for several years. It seems like a never ending job. First picture is typical of what almost all the forested acres looked like. Second and third will be after pictures. Sorry, but I haven't got same location before and after shots.

The after thinning shots still have a lot of slash and fallen trees to be still cleaned up. Sometimes it is difficult to find folks who are willing to take free firewood if it is still in log form and a few miles off county roads.

Like I said, I hope the connection is good enough to get pictures loaded.
Untouched for years
Untouched for years
Thinned, needs cleanup
Thinned, needs cleanup
Thinned, last years slash
Thinned, last years slash

cspot
# Posted: 12 Oct 2018 21:32

What is your reason for thinning the trees ICC? Just curious of what the end goal is?

toyota_mdt_tech
# Posted: 12 Oct 2018 21:45 - Edited by: toyota_mdt_tech

I have 40 acres and I am having the DNR in my state come in on a cost share program to help private timber farmers. They just finished a 100%, I am on a 75%/25% and I pay the 25%. They have a 50/50 cost share available all the time.

The cost to thin is about $1200 an acre. They will come in, cutters thin, I am having them leave all douglas fir and they wont cut anything over 8" diameter or anything I have marked with a blue ribbon. They leave a spacing of 15 feet between trees, remove all the branches on the remaining trees to the 10 foot mark. They chip up all the trees and branches they remove and blow it all around, not in piles. My cost will be about $6000. I have singed the contract, maybe start soon, if not able to this fall because of snow, start in April.