Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Properties / north east pa permits and code question
jimbone007
# Posted: 29 Jun 2019 14:05

Hey Everyone,

I'm new to the forum and was looking for some wisdom hopefully from other people in my area.
I own 8 acres in northeast pa by the ny border and I have a mobile home on it. I started to build a cabin 12x24 with a gambrel roof and loft.Its on 5 4x4 skids 2x8 pt floor with 3/4 pt plywood and 2x6 walls with 2x8 floor joists on 2nd level and 2x8 roof trusses. I didn't pull permits or look into code. I have a lot of construction experience and did a lot of research( cabin probably exceeds code). So I'm thinking of reaching out to code enforcers and seeing if what I built is okay without a permit or inspections in my township and if it isn't how I can correct it. My questions are :

Is this a good idea?
How should I go about doing this?
what is likely to happen? ( anyone that has had experience with this in pa I'd like to hear your story)

Thanks in advance for any replies

PA_Bound
# Posted: 29 Jun 2019 22:19

If you are not planning to live in the cabin or use it as a permanent address, have you considered pulling a "recreational cabin affidavit" for your project? Pennsylvania has a (unique?) certification that allows recreational cabins to be built outside of the UCC permitting process. There are restrictions to how this property can be used (see below), and I believe the deed is altered to indicate that the cabin was not built to code to protect any future buyers. But for true cabins it can save a bunch of hassle.

Restrictions include: (The cabin...)
1. ...will be utilized for recreational activities only.
2. ...will not be utilized as a domicile or residence by myself or any other person for
any period of time.
3. ...will not be used for any commercial purposes.
4. ...will not exceed two stories in height (excluding the basement, if any).