Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / Low power potable water filtration?
torque
# Posted: 4 Mar 2012 14:18 - Edited by: torque

Hello everyone.

I am in the midst of planning a self-sustainable earthbag type of home. I am a plumber in Canada so I have a pretty thorough understanding of what can be done with water.

The only problem is most of my training has been based around ample electricity, and huge pumps. A lot of commercial systems rely on the grid for their marvelous filtration.

I'm designing a home that really only needs electricity for two things, a chest style refigerator, and a chest style freezer. Those will be needed for sure. I figure I can run these at 400kWh year. A solar set up for something like this won't be too pricey. I plan to buy the panels needed for these, and then add maybe one or two more for utility such as charging cell, laptop, camera, and possibly running LED lights. I'd be okay with daylight/candles.

So with that said, I am trying to figure into my design if I need to acquire enough solar panels to run a small pump type system to make a RO membrane feasible. Either that or running something like a carbon filter with a water ionizer.

I am curious if any of you guys who have more experience with offgrid than I do could offer any suggestions?

A 1/6 hp Ridgid utility pump runs on 2.5 amps, or 300 watts. I'd really only need to turn it on when I needed to force water through a membrane. Although I'd still need to make sure I had about a minimum of 30psi.