Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / solar newbie...have questions please/thanks
rugercpl
# Posted: 22 Aug 2014 20:19

I have a solar generator thats working fairly well to power my cabin...300ah battery power and (2) 150W solar panels. Its a system designed and sold by Be Prepared Solar...an Ebay company that also sells systems and components via their website and I believe Amazon. I'm new to solar world, and added this system on to the cabin recently to relieve some of the runtime of my Eu2000, and to have silent power in the night. I dont have sufficient sun or solar panels to recharge the battery power I use the night before. but about a 3 hour runtime with the Eu2000 will do that just fine the next morning...but I get about 6 hours of lights, TV, Bluray, radio, and water pumps in the evenings which will deplete the batteries to about 70%-80%. I havent been able to tell how much full sun I would need to recharge the batteries to the same degree the 3-hour recharge runtime does with the Eu2000 using the battery charger to recharge the batteries.

The system design is here... http://www.bepreparedsolar.com/Pure-Sine-Wave-Solar-Generator-Solar-Panels-p/3-300psw .htm . I bought a Shumaker battery charger from them for about $50. I'm using the solar generator to power the cabin via backfeeding the cabin through a dedicated household outlet. In turn the battery power runs thru this outlet to the panel box and electrifies all the outlets and LED track lighting in the cabin.

I'm "getting to know" the battery charger and how it works. I'm also "getting to know" the solar charge controller and how it works, but some things are still a mystery to me. I realize that both the charger and the solar charge controller are what some may deem cheap pieces of junk.