Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / Ryobi 1800w inverter generator review
JJHess
# Posted: 16 Oct 2014 08:02

I know many on this site use the Honda or Yamaha inverter generators for off-grid power. I've owned and used the Honda over the years and have loved it. A couple months ago someone must of thought they needed my generator more than I and lifted it out of the bed of my truck when I was on a job site.

Around Labor Day weekend I was in need of a new generator (I am a contractor and use generators on a regular basis) and my local Honda guy didn't have any in stock. I made a trip to Home Depot for some materials and came across a Ryobi inverter generator for $550. At first I discounted it but after walking the store for a little I thought 'what the heck' and picked it up. For what it's worth, here is my experience with it thus far:

Power: This generator powers all the same tools my Honda did, although with some of the higher draw stuff it seems to take an extra second or two to come to full power.

Size: Nearly the same size, and feels lighter, than the Honda.

Run time: Easily runs 8 hours at 25% load.

Noise: As quiet as the Honda.

Parallel connection: Just like the other inverters, haven't tried it yet though.

Quality: Here is where the price difference shows. Overall it seems a little more cheaply built. The plastic doesn't seem like it will hold up to winter temps but we shall see.

Features: Has wheels and a retractable handle for moving it around but the wheels are basically roller blade wheels that only really work on hard, smooth surfaces.

Main gripe: You need a screwdriver to remove the side panel to access the oil dip stick and oil fill. I'm removing the included torx screws and replacing them with thumb screws.