Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / Rainwater collection questions
MO Cabin
# Posted: 26 Apr 2016 06:36

I have been bring water to my cabin for 10 years in the form of 55 gallon drums. I am looking to upgrade to something more sustainable and fairly simple, originally I planned an elaborate and complex system but after doing more research I found it to be too expensive. The majority of the water will be used for utility purposes, showering and bathing children , a small amount may be used to cook with if we needed it. I plan on buying a stock norwesco 325 gal tank (like the one pictured) from the local farm supply store and using exterior paint to paint the tank dark green or brown. I have already purchased a shuflo pump and plan on making a portable dolly system but as of now I plan on putting the tank 3-4 feet in the air so that I can fill buckets and to get a little bit of gravity feed. As I build on the system I want to add the four 55 gal drums that I already have into the storage system. I have looked at so many different ideas that I am not sure what to do. If you have personally tried something or have pictures how yours works please give me suggestions, I have reached critical mass from researching so many different methods and would like to hear from people with experience on the subject.

My questions are

1) best way to install overflow diverter on the tank without drilling a hole in the tank.

2) I already built a solid table out of scrap treated 6x6 and 2x8s (built similar to deck construction except the joists are 3 feet apart instead of 16inches). Will this support a 325 gallon tank? Or what is another easy way to get a tank up off the ground?