Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Foundation help
. 1 . 2 . >>
mojo43
# Posted: 26 Apr 2012 08:25

I have been playing around with a bunch of different ideas for the 9X12 cabin that we are going to build in Ontario (where the frost line is deep).

We are on a sloped lot with very moist black earth. I will be building on a higher point, but it will still have black moist earth.

Is this an option? It would be the easiest way for me as getting in a lot of gravel is a much harder option:

http://coyotecottage.com/cabin/cabinconstruction/foundation.htm

If that is not an option then I guess the only other option is to use sono tubes and put in piers. Is that correct??

Thanks in advance. I am very new to this so I apologize for the silly questions!

rayyy
# Posted: 26 Apr 2012 09:38

My first building which is a 12x12 shed just sits on 2x10 treated boards with the floor joists being 2x6 treated.I laid out a 6mill plastic sheet under it to keep moister down.Not perfect but it will out last me.

mojo43
# Posted: 26 Apr 2012 10:13

I am pretty new at this. Doesn't the shed move a lot over the years? I will have a bunch of windows and a couple of patio sliding doors in our cabin.

This scenario sounds pretty easy to build, but wouldn't my building move a lot and screw up the windows and doors?

mojo43
# Posted: 26 Apr 2012 10:22

Sorry, I forgot to mention that there will be a loft in the cabin as well.

MtnDon
# Posted: 26 Apr 2012 10:38 - Edited by: MtnDon

To me a slope, moist earth and deck blocks do not mix well together.

Moist earth will not only allow slippage sideways on a slope but it will freeze and heave.

If you use sonotubes remember to think about how you are going to brace the piers to the beams and joists PT 6x6 timber piers (foundation grade) may be easier all round.

mojo43
# Posted: 26 Apr 2012 12:54