Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Complete novice planning for a tiny shack
greenacarina
# Posted: 24 Jun 2012 03:25

I've got my little slice of the american dream....about 4100 sq feet worth! I am limited to a 200 sq ft "playhouse or shed" before I have to start messing with permits. So, naturally I am thinking 10x20 would fit the bill perfectly.
My needs are simple...I want this to be a simple weekend getaway that's a step up comfort-wise from tent camping. No power or plumbing. Small outhouse using the "bucket method".
As I am noodling up all the general ideas of what I want, now I am starting to come to the specifics of how to build this.
Here are the current questions on my mind-
1.) What kind of foundation? I am thinking skids (railroad ties?) for the sake of simplicity.
2.) With my footprint of 10x20, would I be able to make this tall enough for a full-sized loft? (tall enough to comfortably crawl around/sleep, etc... not more than 5 ft tall)
My concern is making the thing taller than it is wide if it's on skids....don't wanna get too tippy!

Some things to note- I will have to hand-carry all my materials to my building site. My property is essentially rain forest, so things will be wet....a lot.

Thanks!
Chris

Anonymous
# Posted: 24 Jun 2012 07:43

Being in a rain forest I would think about getting my building off the ground for air flow and rotting floor.

johng
# Posted: 24 Jun 2012 08:17 - Edited by: johng

12x16 would be a more stable footprint, plus make better use of sheet goods.
The Tiny Hose Prospector's Cabin might work for you.

PA_Bound
# Posted: 24 Jun 2012 08:47

Gotta' agree with anonymous about the foundation. In a rainforest I would think you would want the cabin higher than what skids or railroad ties would allow. Lot's of air-flow under the cabin is your friend in this case.

neb
# Posted: 24 Jun 2012 10:55