Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / On demand water heaters...again.
Smawgunner
# Posted: 11 Feb 2015 12:25 - Edited by: Smawgunner

Hey all,
My cabin has electric but no natural or propane gas. I'll only be heating water for a shower and sink. Eccotemp has an ET-32 for $400.00 but looks like it may be overkill?? It also requires 220V and over 40 AMPs. Anyone recommend something a little less involved that'll do the trick? I'll be pulling water from a cistern from an electric pump (not sure of the set up yet) with a rise of only 8 feet or so (to the top of the shower head). Thoughts?? I'm new to all of this.

Nirky
# Posted: 11 Feb 2015 13:36

The ET-32 can be used for a home but is more used in light commercial applications. The L5 & higher capacity L7 are both 12 volt. They require at least 22 psi water pressure.

MtnDon
# Posted: 11 Feb 2015 14:41 - Edited by: MtnDon

I interpret that to mean the on demand heater would be electric? Electric water heaters demand a lot of power that is why the 220/240 volts That 40 amps would be 80 on 120 VAC. I don't think you will find many smaller, cheaper on demand electric water heaters that are any good.

Check the temperature rise rating and at what flow rate to see if whatever you look at can heat your cold water high enough. If the cabin is subject to freezing there is the question of draining to prevent damage; some are easier than others.

You might be better off with a small under counter electric heater that is well wrapped with extra insulation if this is a part time use cabin.

MtnDon
# Posted: 11 Feb 2015 14:59

Here's a spec sheet on a 120 VAC on demand heater. Note the temperature rise on the 3.5 model.... 40 F rise with a flow of only 0.66 GPM and it needs a flow of 0.4 GPM to start the heater. Why bother?

Smawgunner
# Posted: 11 Feb 2015 18:37