Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Member's Projects and Photos / 12x16 cabin in va
. 1 . 2 . >>
vacabin
# Posted: 28 Mar 2013 08:23

Just got started on a 12x16 cabin project.I work in the waste disposal industry and wanted to build a cabin using as much salvaged and reclaimed materials as possible.so far the only lumber I have purchased for this project are the 4x6 skids the cabin is built on. The floor is 2x8 joist on 16 inch centers covered n 3/4 osb with a layer of 5/8 ply over that.the walls are 2x6 still need to finish framing windows and installing studs above headers.
image.jpg
image.jpg

vacabin
# Posted: 28 Mar 2013 08:29 - Edited by: vacabin

Wall framing
image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg

trollbridge
# Posted: 28 Mar 2013 08:42

Welcome!
That's great that you are recycling and reusing all you can. Your in the right business for "snatching" all the materials you can We did much of that at our place too.

Keep posting lots of pictures and have lot's of fun building!

old old buddy
# Posted: 30 Mar 2013 22:03

Nice cabin! Are you located in Virginia? I have relatives in Chesterfield and my brother-in-law just purchased 40 acres about three years ago in Amelia County but has yet to build on it. He got it for hunting and for building a cabin on and then got sick right after purchasing the property and hasn't been able to do anything since then. It's beautiful country.

How many will be staying at your cabin at one time? We found out that after we moved all our gear in and the kitchen with countertop, that we needed more room. That's when we decided to build our 8X16 room on. With two grandsons and my son and myself.....it's perfect, eventhough they haven't spent a night there yet.

I wish you luck and with 2X6 walls it should be real sturdy...that's for sure.

Old Old Buddy

vacabin
# Posted: 31 Mar 2013 19:11

I'm located in pittsylvania county Virginia .