Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / General Forum / Generators
. 1 . 2 . >>
lawnjocky
# Posted: 27 Nov 2021 13:09

I haven't posted in quite a while but I just got back from my off the grid place in New Mexico and I had some generator issues (again).

I have a cheap Champion 4000 watt generator that I have been using for 7 or 8 years. Usually it is great but if I am not careful I have the dreaded ethanol problems. I try to use non ethanol fuel but sometimes I can't get it. When I shut down the generator I always shut the fuel off and let it run dry. If I have been away for a while I drain the tank before starting and refill it with fresh fuel.

lawnjocky
# Posted: 27 Nov 2021 13:17

I accidently posted that before it was ready. So I stored the generator in a shipping container for several months and I suspect it got hot in there and the fuel bled through the fuel valve and into the carb where it did its nasty business.

After doing all the normal stuff it almost started and then the pull cord broke. %^*$#@

So I brought it home to service it. I am going to install a "T" in the fuel line with 2 valves so it will really shut off and I can drain bad fuel completely with less work. I am going to replace the cord and I am wondering if any of you have found kevlar or similar material ropes that last longer.

What else are you doing to avoid generator issues when it is stored for months at a time?

gcrank1
# Posted: 27 Nov 2021 14:47

I have to store my small engine powered stuff and 3 motorcycles for 5-6 mo./yr. Been doing this for decades, Im 68.
Some of my stuff gets run fairly often 'in season', others may or may not.....