Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / General Forum / New and dreaming
jbobs
# Posted: 16 Jun 2011 18:33

Hi everyone,

I absolutely love the idea of building a small, energy efficient home on a piece of property where I can have a garden and some meat birds) I'm only in the dreaming stages right now but here's my story in short:

I am an Animal Health Technology student with one more year before graduation (like a veterinary nurse) and have enough money to buy a piece of property once I start working, 2-5 acres. I want to live in a smaller home (say between 400-800 square feet) that is very well insulated, allows for a lot of natural lighting and has electricity supplemented if not 100% provided by solar power. I can do most of it myself but would need help with some of the electric and plumbing since I don't have a lot of experience in that area.

I'm afraid that building it myself is my only option, because I can't see ever finding a place like that already built unless it's a run down shack. I have some money to play with now, but I don't want to blow it all on a place that's a money pit and I'm just really paranoid about being broke and living in debt my whole life, so I want to live small and cheap.

My parents think this is a pipe dream and that I should just buy a house like "normal" people do and I'm quite discouraged, because I think it's a great idea and I feel I can do it. I'm not a very high-maintanance or material person.

Can anyone relate to this or do I really just have my head in the clouds here?

smitty
# Posted: 16 Jun 2011 19:20

Do NOT let people tell you, it's a crazy idea..
If it is YOUR dream.. Do it..
It can be done, it has been done, and most of us here are either doing it, or working on getting it done..

Remember there will be a million speed bumps on the way, your plans will have to change along the way.

We are building a cabin out in NY..