Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / General Forum / New off grid cabin build, design and planning phase
Ominous Ann
# Posted: 6 Jan 2023 02:30

Hi all, I'm a lifelong builder Canadian/American and about to retire. I'd like to retire to Nova Scotia, love that place. So I thought I'd design something and see how the preliminary stages go, make some decisions from there.

Oceanfront
No property yet
Nothing set in stone

I'm thinking about building on a slab if local codes allow it and deliveries are available. A perimeter wall foundation would be ideal but that's a lot of excavating. Geodetic foundation is a possibility, lots of options.
Stick framed, super insulated double exterior walls.
Air source heat exchanger
Off grid solar and wind
Wood stove
Composting toilet
Every trick I can think of to avoid excavating.

1.5 stories
16 x24 basic footprint.

Gotta check some local codes but advice is always welcome as I've not build in Nova before

Cheers and nice to be here

BRADISH
# Posted: 6 Jan 2023 03:52

Out of curiosity - why the hesitancy towards excavation?

While it's great to look for ideas, and even have a general plan in mind, I think building for the terrain/area is incredibly important. I'd probably want to hone in on some specific land options before I'd get too married to any particular floorplan.

Just my two cents.

Nate R
# Posted: 6 Jan 2023 08:34

Advice: If you haven't already, read the "Pretty Good House" book that recently came out. After reading it this past week, I think it lays out pretty well things you should think about in a design.

Curious what kind of R level you're thinking for the double stud walls? If going that far on the walls, what do you think your ceiling or foundation insulation would look like? Windows?