Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / General Forum / Few questions...
cizzi
# Posted: 8 Oct 2008 21:00

Hi everyone, I love this website, read most of it.. I also bought LaMar's ebook on homesteading and ordered another book from amazon.ca on building your own dream cabin in the woods.. I'm an electrician by trade and will be shopping for a piece of land in the woods to build my cabin..

question #1.. its stated that 100 square feet or less of space you dont need a permit.. how can I find out where I live (montreal, canada) if I can go 15x15 or 15x20 for example? would anyone say something? i would rather be off-grid with solar power and do everything myself

question #2.. any of you know where I can find cheap piece of land ? for example 1 acre up to 1 1/2 hours from the city? i checked mls.ca but not very successfull.. most of them want the entire amount cash to buy the land vs financing.. I might have to wait a year or so to save up the money? loans are out of the question for me..

thanks

CabinBuilder
Admin
# Posted: 8 Oct 2008 22:40 - Edited by: CabinBuilder

Quoting: cizzi
question #2.. any of you know where I can find cheap piece of land ? for example 1 acre up to 1 1/2 hours from the city?

In my experience, I don't think you can find cheap property for your cabin within 2 hrs drive form the large city like Montreal - that's the prime cottage area and is quite expensive.
I had to take 2.5 hrs drive from Toronto to get something decent at the price I could justify.

Good luck though.

Yes, MLS is a good start.

Barrys Bay
# Posted: 9 Oct 2008 21:58

Bon Nuit,

We found our lot by asking locals in the area that we usually vacation in (Barry's Bay) if they knew of any cheap land for sale. Prices are better if you stay away from waterfront, but are close enough to walk or quickly drive to the water. If you can get it for the price of a car or less, it's great!