Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / General Forum / Your best tips for simple living.
<< . 1 . 2 .
Rifraf
# Posted: 25 Jan 2012 12:06 - Edited by: Rifraf

We need to work, and deal with the pace of the world around us

You dont really need to work in the traditional sense.. there are options to that as well. Thats my favorite part about full time cabin living. I dropped my high mortgage for a piece of land , small cabin shell and time enough to finish that into a living space for myself wife and kids. The size is about 340 sq ft not counting the lofted sleeping areas, its not finished just yet but I estimate my utilities will be cut in half if not more from my previous 2500 sq ft house.

Im a software engineer, I was working for a company 10 hrs a day sometimes 6 - 7 days a week. Im not lazy but I dont want to be owned by anyone anymore. So ive chosen to reduce my financial needs so I can work part time from home taking contracts I choose. So far I do not regret leaving the "pace of the world" behind and walking at my own pace.. ive not been this free and happy since I was a kid, once I realized this was going to work for us I started wondering why more folks dont do it :)

Now my wife is a school teacher and loves her job so she will continue to do that in our new location.. but now all of her money can go into savings.

So my best tip, use your cabin to relax and move at your own speed at least from time to time.. If you have kids a cabin off the beaten path can be a great place to connect, thats what its there for right ? Nature walks and Campfire cookouts are nice too

sfrock
# Posted: 25 Jan 2012 22:30

Well probably the best way to live simply is never to get ahead of yourselves. I mean, you should be able to work well within your means, even though it could be so small or so scarce.