Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / General Forum / Cleaning Wood Stove Chimney Help
Patgreat
# Posted: 26 Apr 2012 15:57

I have to clean out my chimney this weekend; it has all the signs of having Creosol build up. I got one of those brushes that has two ropes attached to it and you pull it threw to clean it out. It has an 8 inch round stove pipe that goes into a box and then continues out the roof. I wanted to see if anyone has any tips or advice on how to go about it, or things to avoid. I am not really sure what to expect It's my first time doing it.

Thanks in advance

Montanan
# Posted: 26 Apr 2012 17:26

I'm no help, as we'll be in the same situation with the same set-up when we clean ours for the first time this summer. Looking forward to reading the replies, though.

trollbridge
# Posted: 26 Apr 2012 17:41

Us too! Still need to buy the brush but any words of wisdom will be much appreciated

MtnDon
# Posted: 26 Apr 2012 18:48

Our stove pipe exits straight out the top of the stove and straight up through the roof. There is one section of insulated pipe that hangs from the mount box. Between the stove exit and the insulated pipe I used a section of telescoping black pipe. The adapter to black pipe bayonets into that insulated pipe bottom, the black pipe is fixed to the adpater with three screws.

When I clean I first slide the lower section of the telescoping part up about six inches. Then I remove the telescoping pipe with the adapter ring; just turn it counterclockwise and it uncouples. I take that outside.

I hang a HD plastic bag over the end of the pipe that hangs from the ceiling box. Over that I wrap a burlap sack to guard against plastic bag cuts or breaks.

On the roof I remove the chimney cap; it bayonets onto the insulated pipe.