Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / General Forum / chimney and wood stove
RedTailHawk
# Posted: 2 Dec 2012 18:07

I just got a quote from a chimney sweep to bring my wood stove liner up to code. He said that it would cost $2868 to insert a liner in the existing flue. This is my first time having a cabin, or a wood stove. Am I being robbed?

Here are pictures of the fireplace and wood stove
fireplace
fireplace
wood stove
wood stove

TomChum
# Posted: 2 Dec 2012 18:16

Hard to say. Does this include a a fireplace insert to replace the existing woodstove?

Your place looks awesome. When you have a hearth that cool, real rock and all!!! it is a shame to have that stove sitting in front. If it was me I'd use a fireplace insert that can be opened to look like an open fireplace (when necessary) but for heat you would close the doors and run it as an 'airtight'. I'd do it myself, thus can't really assess the $2868 estimate.

RedTailHawk
# Posted: 2 Dec 2012 18:24

as I understand it, the chimney has 2 separate flues. One for the stone fireplace and one for the wood stove. The chimney guy said the liner in the flue was not up to code so he wasn't allowed to clean it (otherwise if there was a fire after he touched it, then he'd be liable).

GomerPile
# Posted: 2 Dec 2012 19:58

Class A chimney pipe is about $40 per foot. Chimney liner is $375 for a 20 foot kit.

A class a chimney pipe is a stand alone chimney.....you just need to maintain a 2 inch gap around it. Assuming you have 20ft of chimney and this guy was installing class a chimney pipe in it you would be looking at $800 for the pipe.