Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / General Forum / How many first time do it your self small cabin builders
flatwater
# Posted: 31 Dec 2009 20:15

I have always thought that to build a house to live in would be the greatest thing to accomplish, but it intimidated the heck out of me. When we first bought our 12x16 cabin, we knew we wanted to move up to "our mountain" There were some hurtles to overcome and I really had to think outside the box. I also had to use some unconventional methods to build. Some of the things they say that you "have" to do are motivated more by money then actual need. I dove in to it with both feet and both hands. It was a good way to explain to my DW why I had these extra tools I didn't have before. " but honey their needed for the new addition"

lawnjocky
# Posted: 1 Jan 2010 17:08

I was a contractor in my misguided youth. I've always been fixing up houses and boats. When I went to law school and practiced law working with my hands was the only thing that kept me from going completely crazy. I finally gave up the law stuff but I still love working on things with my hands.

Jocko

JRanch
# Posted: 1 Jan 2010 19:48

I am in the beginning stage of my cabin in NM. It will be a 12x16 with loft. I'm at the stage of gathering some "usable" material to help keep my costs down. In the past month I have recieved for free, (4) double pane windows, an antique small pot belly wood stove, 6x6 wood beams for my rails that will support my floor joists.

I'm still in the process of convincing my wife that its time to build now.

keith

flatwater
# Posted: 2 Jan 2010 21:55

The sooner the better. I would rather have a cabin and not have to use it except for vacations, then not have one when things go tits up.

Borrego
# Posted: 2 Jan 2010 22:21