Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / General Forum / Howdy
Fallen Timbers
# Posted: 23 Jun 2010 12:14

Just found this forum through a link on "The Tiny House Blog". I feel like I found my tribe or something!

I started building a tiny log cabin back in March and have been journaling my experience on House of Fallen Timbers. My goal is to build a small log cabin using only dead trees and found materials for as little money as possible.

Attached are some photos from my project. I have no experience and the first thing you will notice is that I did a very poor job of building a foundation that will last more than a few years.

I understand now that to build a more permanent structure I would need a much more substantial plan for the foundation but thats OK.

It's a great form of exercise and I'm having a ball building this thing! It may not last more than a year or two but it isn't costing me much of anything and I'm learning from my mistakes. Maybe when this one is finished I'll get serious and spend a couple hundred bucks to build one that will last a few decades.

Anyway, wanted to introduce myself and share my blog and photos. Hope you enjoy them and hope to make some new friends on the forum.
Foundation and floor.
Foundation and floor.
Salvaged decking
Salvaged decking
First split log
First split log
First piece of porch furnature
First piece of porch furnature

lawnjoky
# Posted: 23 Jun 2010 14:52