Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / General Forum / dirty laundry
pizzadude
# Posted: 13 Mar 2015 22:36

I'm new here, maybe this has been discussed a few times.. forgive me for not checking first
I'm curious how you all take care of your laundries without running water.
Old fashioned washboard maybe?
I personally do not look forward to using a washboard, but realize it could be a possibility.
I hate laundry mats too.. but they are an option as well.
Tossed around the idea of a ventless washer/dryer. I'm just learning about these tho.
Does anyone have experience with one of these machines? I'd love to hear your stories

MtnDon
# Posted: 13 Mar 2015 23:08 - Edited by: MtnDon

For our part time we we just take it home.

If we were full time in the boonies we would just have an energy efficient (electric and water) washer. No dryer or maybe a propane fueled dryer.

Noway we'd use a washboard and tub approach. No need to unless one has an extremely low budget and lots of time.

I know a couple people using a Haier one piece washer/dryer and they are happy. One runs a generator to do laundry and the other has a large enough PV system they can do laundry as an opportunity load when the sun shines brightly.

cabingal3
# Posted: 14 Mar 2015 01:27

i am gonna use a five gallon bucket and a plunger.sit down and do an up and down plunging motion for two minutes.then use my wash board where needed.rinse up and down for a minute and then hang out in the meadow.should be fine.
i am gonna sit in a chair while i plunge up and down on the dirty clothes.this is once we move out there.
which is in two months.

silverwaterlady
# Posted: 14 Mar 2015 01:34

We take it home. If we were up there all summer than I would try to get my Grandma's old wringer washer working.