Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / General Forum / butane to propane conversion
bobrok
# Posted: 7 Apr 2016 15:12

I picked up a single burner very similar to this for real cheap. It takes the aerosol size butane canisters, but I am wondering if it'd be worth it to convert to propane. I could then run off my grill size tank at camp for outdoor cooking.
Operating under the assumption that I can use propane as a substitute fuel is there a simple attachment available to convert the aerosol fitting in this unit for propane?
single burner
single burner

littlesalmon4
# Posted: 7 Apr 2016 18:57

air orifice is a different size for propane, butune, iso-butane.
Not impossible but not really recommended.

Julie2Oregon
# Posted: 7 Apr 2016 19:58

How interesting! I didn't know they made camp burners that use butane! I'm just learning about butane because I'm looking at torches to light the Wiseway pellet stove I'm going to install. It's all manual -- you heat up the pellet basket chamber to a certain temp with a torch and that triggers the pellets to release and ignite.

Anyhoo, I thought I'd buy a propane torch until I saw the butane models. Dang! It will heat up that chamber in no time. I'm favoring a kit by Dremel that comes with attachments for all sorts of uses. Haha, I can light the pellet stove and make crème brulee!

But I digress (again) ... the torches don't use much butane, and the butane isn't very expensive. So I wonder how these burners perform in that regard? And if it throws off more heat than the propane appliance?

bobrok
# Posted: 7 Apr 2016 20:11

Yeah, from what I see you can use propane but it will be less efficient in output. For my purposes I'll have to compare the output vs the comparative cost of butane canisters vs propane conversion.

MtnDon
# Posted: 7 Apr 2016 20:29