Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / General Forum / 12 volt on demand water pump and on demand gas water heater
Magnum PI
# Posted: 1 Mar 2017 15:33

Hello everyone. This is my first time posting and the questions I have I'm sure have been asked before but here goes anyway. I have a small 20'x20' cabin off grid that I am trying to get finished. I just need to get my water hooked up. I would like to get opinions on what size "gpm" water pump to use and what brand. I know I can get something from Harbor Freight for cheap but afraid they won't hold up. Shurflow pumps are good but more expensive. My brother-in-law thinks I should get something in the 7 gpm range. I think that is over kill and believe a 3 gpm would work. I will just be furnishing water to a bathroom with shower,toilet and sink for now with a small kitchen sink later on. I only use the cabin 2 or 3 weeks out of the year. Now to the water heater. I would like a propane on demand water heater that would hook up to a 20 lb propane tank. I would like one that uses a class b flue or pvc pipe to vent it. I have seen the kind used in rvs that you have to mount through the wall with a door on the outside. I would rather not use this kind due to the problems cutting into the wall. I have ribbed barn metal on the inside and outside. Another question is that I see a lot of the small on demand heaters are limited to 3 gpm so would a 7 gpm pump put to much pressure on the heater? Or do they have some sort of check valve? I will be using a 55 gallon barrel for my water source. I know this is a long post but would like to see what others have to say. Thanks in advance.

spoofer
# Posted: 1 Mar 2017 15:40

I think the 3 gpm would be more than fine.

bldginsp
# Posted: 1 Mar 2017 16:07

I agree with spoofer, the 3gpm will be fine, but only for one use at a time, not a problem in a cabin that gets used little.