Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / General Forum / Window Air Condition With Heater
otienoty
# Posted: 25 Feb 2020 15:05 - Edited by: otienoty

I want to install an air conditioning unit in my office, and I need some advice. The room is 12' x 15' and the ceiling height is 8' on one side and 10' on the opposite side. I’m thinking of going with a window unit! I’ve never used these before for cooling. The weather here can get really hot in summer, so I want to prep the room before then. If anyone has experience with cooling a room this size, then you can recommend the type of ac you used and the size as well

Brettny
# Posted: 26 Feb 2020 08:02

Actually with how efficient window units have become the bang for the buck on a mini split may not be as much.

What's the R rating of the walls, floor and ceiling? What heating/cooling zone are you in?

jhp
# Posted: 26 Feb 2020 08:48 - Edited by: jhp

I have found this to be a good way to estimate heating or cooling needs. If you want to get more accurate than this you need a true heat loss calculation but this has been pretty close

https://www.calculator.net/btu-calculator.html

Regardless of what this thing tells you, I'd recommend buying the biggest (by BTU) unit you can fit through your window, that is in your budget, and works with your power constraint - either 120v or 240v.

Mini splits are nice, but you jump fast in price from the nicest window at about $500 to the cheapest, smallest split at like $700. The next tier up is like $900/$1000, they get expensive fast.

For a cheap option, check Craigslist or Facebook for used window units, you can often pick up one year old ones for 1/2 price or less.

Last thing, if you don't have one get a ceiling fan in the room. Again, the biggest you can fit and buy a decent brand (I like Hunter) so it's not noisy and it will really help move the air around.

ICC
# Posted: 26 Feb 2020 09:28