Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / What do I need to make a 16x40 cabin shell liveable?
Myoldhomefallsapart
# Posted: 22 May 2021 12:00

Hello folks,

Some of you know so much about building and DIY and I am almost nothing. I figured that I studied the wrong stuff when I was younger and not what I really need in life.

Anyway, as my user name says, the home I am living in is falling into pieces. Floors cave in and my roof starts to do the same. However, I have space to build myself another small house on my lot.

I checked with contractors in my area but I am not getting many answers from them. Despite that it is their business to sell their houses and work, either they don't answer at all or I have to pull every little detail out of their noses. They don't volunteer any information. It is as if they work for some kind of freaking secret service or such! As if I asked for classified information. No kidding! Or they think I am a clueless lady and have 1800 minds and just want to talk to my husband instead of, who I don't have.

I have a couple of questions and I number them, so if some of you are so kind to answer, you just have to type the number and write your short answer behind it.

The situation: Someone in my county sells 16x40 shells of cabins with concrete plier foundation for USD 20.000. They dig the holes and place the thing on my lot.

My questions:

1) What would be the best solution for isolation?

2) Is it difficult or dangerous to apply isolation myself? The biggest construction project I ever did was driving a nail into a wall.

3) What would be the most afforable option to cover the walls after the isolation?

4) I was told that the floor of the cabin is 3/4 inch tongue and grove floor system made by LP. I don't know what a tongue is, except that one in my mouth.

5) What is the most affordable flooring that I need to put on top of the grove floor?