Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Pier foundation question
fishinglineman
# Posted: 18 May 2011 20:13

Hi everyone,
Im a newbie here seems like a great site. I am getting ready to build a camp on a piece of land in Maine. The camp is going to be 24x28 and im going to put it on post foundation because of the remote location, no concrete for 60 miles. So heres my question... with the frost level at about 3 feet what is the best way to set the posts? Should I put the posts into the ground below the frost level or, should I put the post on concrete pads on a gravel or crushed stone pad? I am going to put down foam insulation about 6" uner grade to try to prevent the frost from getting under the posts and heaving. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Just
# Posted: 18 May 2011 22:38

dig a 4 ft. hole 18in.in diameter pore at least 8 in cement in each hole smooth off bottom . place post in hole back fill after the posts are in and square .. back fill with fine gravel or soil"""" never!!!!! with cement"""

dvgchef
# Posted: 18 May 2011 23:11

Sounds like a nice camp idea! However, I agree with Just. There is no way to get around this in New England, unless you don't mind lots of shifting.

Quoting: fishinglineman
should I put the post on concrete pads on a gravel or crushed stone pad?

I had bad luck with gravel pads in upstate NY. Not sure we are talking the same idea, but I laid in abut 12 inches of gravel in a 2 foot square, with cement blocks over that. The first winter was fine, the second winter looked like a cyclone hit it. Fortunately I had only built a 12 by12 tent platform.

When I do it again, I will think of a way to collect water and lug in the cement - about a half mile from the car.

MtnDon
# Posted: 18 May 2011 23:43