Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Pier foundation question
fishinglineman
# Posted: 18 May 2011 20:15

Hi everyone,
Im a newbie here seems like a great site. I am getting ready to build a camp on a piece of land in Maine. The camp is going to be 24x28 and im going to put it on post foundation because of the remote location, no concrete for 60 miles. So heres my question... with the frost level at about 3 feet what is the best way to set the posts? Should I put the posts into the ground below the frost level or, should I put the post on concrete pads on a gravel or crushed stone pad? The post are going to be 3' above grade and I am going to put down foam insulation about 6" uner grade to try to prevent the frost from getting under the posts and heaving. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

fpw
# Posted: 18 May 2011 21:38 - Edited by: fpw

I like footings with stumps on top. Makes leveling things much easier. In my case, I dug out below the frost line and filled the holes with sack-crete, rebar, and rock. I put 6" of sono tube at the top just to provide a place that is level.

The holes were about 20" in diameter and belled out as much as I could with a manual hole digger.

This foundation was all done by hand after hauling everything three miles back in the woods.
DSC01883.JPG
DSC01883.JPG
DSC01888.JPG
DSC01888.JPG
DSC01893.JPG
DSC01893.JPG
DSC02284.JPG
DSC02284.JPG

turkeyhunter
# Posted: 18 May 2011 21:51

Quoting: fpw
This foundation was all done by hand after hauling everything three miles back in the woods

that founddation ---is awesome----good job.
fishinglineman
good luck with your build---i will be coming up to Maine this summer to escape the heat of the south. I have always wanted a Maine Camp!!!!

MtnDon
# Posted: 18 May 2011 23:45

Are the stumps just sitting over the bolts? A potential problem with that is the lack of uplift resistance.

fpw