Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Pre-made or not - trusses
jrbarnard
# Posted: 18 Sep 2011 19:18

So, I plan things to death.. heh, I hate to mess things up due to not planning ;)

Trusses - Let's assume I am doing a span of 24ft. Now, I am not a big "2-story" person, so I was hoping to build the roof with as much head room as possible. If I were to engineer/build a cieling joist to span 24', I would assume I would be using something like 2x6's or 2x8's and doubling them and staggering them to produce a 24' beam, correct?

This would preclude me either having a loft or attic or simply having a 8' ceiling.

To me, that is a waste. Now, since I am a novice, my concern is the time and waste of me trying to build my own scissor style trusses.

The other method is me buying pre-made trusses.

Since I was going the pre-made route, that meant I had to cut down on my scope of making a 28x32 cabin to a 24x24 one.. heh, which is fine.

I would rather have the 28x32, I just have to find a way to keep the costs down. Right now, my biggest costs are the pre-made trusses and the hardi plank exterior panels.

Ideas?

This is for a SW Texas cabin. I know.. a hunting cabin so does not need to be so extravagant, but I am having fun with this AND I want to build something that lasts. I love some of the ideas and pictures on here, and I flat out love the idea of a log cabin, but those appear to be far outside our price range (trying to stay below $8000 and also trying to do home depot or lowes as we have accounts with them and it is easier for us.. heh)

Thanks!

Sorry for all the posts, I know I am new, but I really enjoy the planning stuff ;)

Russ

toyota_mdt_tech
# Posted: 19 Sep 2011 21:47