Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Newbie here - building an off grid cabin in Southeast - ROOFING question
tusk
# Posted: 13 Dec 2011 18:47

Parameters for Flat Roof:
1. Building Dim: 16'x48'
2. Roof Dim: 20'x51'
3. Slope: 1:16
4. Metal: 3'x20'x29 ga. Gavlalume Panels
5. Underlayment: 15# roofing felt (2 layers)
6. Sheathing: ½"x4x8 OSB
7. Rafters: 2x8x16 (16" or 24" o.c.)
8. Insulation: R-13 or R-15 (2 layers @ 3 ½" each)

As you can see, with a rafter depth of 7 ¼", there is only ¼" of "dead space".

My question is this: If the void between the ceiling and roof sheathing is completely full of insulation, could I have condensation issues?

It is my thinking that any condensation on the underside of the metal will roll down the felt and into the gutters.

I plan on heating the cabin with LP and cooling with ceiling fans and 115v AC window units.

Average low temperatures in my area are 34F during the winter. Humidity is higher than most places.

Thanks for your time,
TUSK

Just
# Posted: 13 Dec 2011 19:04

I am sure you need a vented space between the insulation and the steel . I have a home with 2 x16 prefab rafters.. The plans called for 12 in. of insulation and a 4 in. air space with a steel roof .

tusk
# Posted: 13 Dec 2011 19:47

is there sheathing and felt between the steel and the rafter? how cold does it get there?

additionally, the steel has ribs in it....

hell, i don't know what i'm talking about....

MtnDon
# Posted: 13 Dec 2011 20:45