Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / New to the site with a question? (extra height in the loft)
SonnyB
# Posted: 10 Jan 2012 20:24

I have been checking the site out for a few months and really like it. So I bought a little over 4 acers in NGA mountains and am thinking about building. The question I have is I am thinking of building a 16x32 1 1/2 story with 12 foot walls because I am 6' 4" and would like the extra height in the loft. Do you think I should go down to 10' walls or is 12' ok? Tell me any pros or cons! Thanks for the help.

MtnDon
# Posted: 10 Jan 2012 20:41 - Edited by: MtnDon

Question: do you have to obtain a building permit and will there be inspections of the framing? If so, the plan will not likely pass as you describe. 10 or 12 foot tall side walls with a loft at the 8 ft mark can run into issues with potential wall spread because of the rafters pushing outwards on the tops of the walls. For that reason codes say 'no' to such things. Many do it when they don't have permits and inspections to deal with, but it's not recommended.

Using a ridge beam instead of a ridge board can correct that problem. That requires a clear load path down the end walls to the foundation and ground.

SonnyB
# Posted: 10 Jan 2012 20:49

I will have to get it permited but when I told them I was putting a loft in it the permit guy said it should pass. I am meeting with him next week to go over a few things. Even with a loft you think it would be to much outward pushing? Thanks!

trollbridge
# Posted: 10 Jan 2012 22:40

May I suggest 10' walls and a shed dormer. This is what we have done in a portion of our loft(a little different 'cause our cabin is 24 wide) but we have 2 sons both over 6'5" and neither is remotely close to being uncomfortable up in our loft.

Also welcome! Good luck when you meet with the permit guy next week :)

MtnDon