Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / New Member, new cabin build, need help
rockymtngal
# Posted: 30 Jul 2012 18:00 - Edited by: rockymtngal

Hi all - been lurking for a while and love the information here. I am a complete novice but am building a 14x14 cabin "shed" on our property. I purchased plans on the web and things have been moving along.

This weekend we were out at our place and since reading other threads here, I was suddenly concerned with the base of my structure. I am building on piers (the precast type) on grade. The plans I purchased had me set 8 - 4x4 posts and then I attached 2x8's to the 4x4's as the perimeter (rim boards?). They used joist hangers in the plans, but I opted to set my 2x8x14 floor joists on top of the "rim" boards. I nailed 6 nails into each rim board to the 4x4 posts and then added a 4" lag screw (again not sure the correct terminology).

My ultimate question is - have I made a huge error? I am way past the point of starting over - as we are at the dried in stage. I just hope I haven't created a dangerous situation. And no, we did not submit plans for permits .

Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thank you

rockymtngal
# Posted: 30 Jul 2012 18:07

Trying to upload my first photo

VTweekender
# Posted: 30 Jul 2012 18:42 - Edited by: VTweekender

Sounds like you put the weight of the structure entirely on those rim boards, trying to picture what you did by your description, what I am seeing is you atatched the rim boards to the outside edges of the 4x4's?. If thats the case, since you are almost dried in, I would go around underneath those rim boards and block underneath with cement patio block every few feet. I assume with the piers that you have there is space under there.

Enjoy your new cabin and welcome to the forum!!

MtnDon
# Posted: 30 Jul 2012 20:05