Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Windows
Jbar
# Posted: 25 Aug 2012 08:19

I am a new member to this forum, but have been surfing it for years looking for inspiration for a cabin project that I have been dreaming about for many years.

I am in the process of building a small cabin on a 30 acre parcel of land in Southern OH, and I have a question about at what point to install the windows. The walls are studded and the plan is to wrap the studs in Tyvek then sheath using T111.

Question: should the "new construction" windows be installed between the studs and Tyvek, between the Tyvek and T111 or on top of the T111 and then trimmed with 1x6 cedar?

It seems there might be different schools of thought here, and, I'm also concerned about replacing windows should they become damaged.

Help!

groingo
# Posted: 25 Aug 2012 10:12

I have dual pane low E 36 by 48 inch sliders for under $100.00 each so they are relatively cheap to replace but to make sure you may want to put shutters on the outside of the windows so when you're gone the windows are protected.

ShabinNo5
# Posted: 25 Aug 2012 11:06

Jbar, you mentioned replacement due to damage. Is this an expected occurance? My guess is that you are considering installing the windows after the T111 has been installed to facilitate replacement. However my concern would be with the difficulty of properly sealing the windows with this installation method. If the seal failed water damage could occur to both the window and the framing structure of the building.

My recommendation would be to install the window after the Tyvek has been installed and before the T111 is installed. The following link provides a good example of properly sealing a window in new construction.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v4O7y4CLrzs

VC_fan
# Posted: 25 Aug 2012 11:34