Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Advice Needed
sureimsure
# Posted: 6 Oct 2009 23:15 - Edited by: sureimsure

I hope people here will take this seriously.
I pretty much have no idea what i'm doing. This is my first attempt at figuring out this goal that i decided on yesterday.
I am a 22 year old female. I am a college student with little money to spare.
I need a place to call home for the next 3 years and i'm tired of room mates, dorming situations and the like. I love the outdoors. I feel like i'm wasting my life because i'm not building anything and am unable to travel or really get out there "in it".. anyway...
I am asking anyone who has previous experience with building cabins, would it be possible for me to build one myself, ( i have no prior knowledge) for under $4, 000? I have land to put it on, friends that are electricians, and a step dad that is willing to throw in a hand if i let him.
i realize for that kind of money the cabin would end up being very small. and thats ok. i'm not concerned about the size of the thing, am not worried about luxury. . i want something of good quality, something durable simple and practical. i would need running water and electricity.
I just want to know if this is plausible, in your opinion or if i am being carried away with a foolish dream?? ..
anyones input on any one issue in this post would be really appreciated... thanks...

CabinBuilder
Admin
# Posted: 7 Oct 2009 11:15 - Edited by: CabinBuilder

Fist, I'd say moving into a small cabin is a lifestyle change - give it a thorough thought for a while. Don't underestimate the effort.
I also assume you figured out transportation.

Then, check with your local municipal laws on cabin size restrictions and decide if you go with or without a building permit route.